You are here

  1. Departments
  2. » Sciences



The Department offers undergraduate (B.Sc. Mathematics) and postgraduate (M.Sc. Mathematics) programmes in Mathematics. B.Sc. Mathematics was introduced in 1947 and M.Sc. Mathematics in 1965.


1. B.Sc Mathematics

Sanctioned Seats - 52

Core Course - Mathematics, Complimentary Courses - Physics & Statistics

Click here for syllabus



2. M.Sc Mathematics

 Sanctioned Seats - 20

Click here for syllabus



EmailL: [email protected]

Like us on facebook: Department of Mathematics, Sree Kerala Varma College, Thrissur.



Prof V K Rajakumar; M.Sc.(Associate Professor & HOD)

Prof Betty John; M.Sc,M.Phil (Associate Professor)

Prof Harish V N; M.Sc, M.Phil, NET, GATE, NBHM (Assistant Professor)

Prof. Viji A.M; M.Sc, M.Phil, NET (Assistant Professor)

Prof. Dr. Krishna M; M.Sc, Ph.D, NET (Assistant Professor)

Prof. Dhanya V. Mukundan; M.Sc, NET, GATE (Assistant Professor)

Prof. Smruthi S; M.Sc, M.Phil, NET (Assistant Professor)


Former Faculties

Prof. Dr. C. S. Venkataraman (Read More)

Prof. P.S. Parameswaran

Prof. E.N. Radha

Prof. K.I. Vasu

Prof. Prabhakaran

Prof. Kanippayur Krishnan Namboodiri

Prof. V. Gopinathan

Prof. E.P. Ramachandran

Prof. Santha Kesavan

Prof. P. Unnikrishnan

Prof. K. Sethulakshmi

Prof. C.C. Vijayan

Prof. A.N. Ramakrishnan

Mrs. P.M. Rema

Mrs. K. Santha

Mrs. K.V. Sujani

Mr. Pravas K.

Prof K R Francis



Image - EPSILON SKVCMAA (Mathematics Alumni Association) General Body Meeting Inauguration by Sri. Adv. Therambil Ramakrishnan on 29 January 2017

image - Send off to Prof. K R Francis and Gurupooja on 5th February 2016

Images - Quiz Competition 2016


Image 1 : Prof. Viji A M, SKV College Thrissur, Convenor addressing participants of State Level Inter Collegiate Mathematics Quiz Competition on 7 February 2016. On the dias, Prof. K R Francis of SKV College, distinguished Chief Guest Dr. T Reji of Govt. College Chittur and Prof. V K Rajakumar, HOD Mathematics, SKV College Thrissur. 

Image - 2 : Principal Prof. Latha C M distributing prizes to winners of State Level Inter Collegiate Mathematics Quiz Competition on 7 February 2016

A Tribute to Prof. Dr. C. S. Venkataraman

Prof. C. S. Venkataraman (1918–1994), popularly known as CSV, was a Mathematician from Kerala, India. He specialised in the Theory of numbers and his forte was the Theory of Arithmetc Functions.

C.S.V served the cause of mathematics teaching well during his long career as a teacher at Sree Kerala Varma College, Thrissur. He enjoyed teaching to students at lower levels. He motivated his students properly and he was in the habit of drawing illustrations from every day life while introducing new concepts. C.S.V was a member of Indian Mathematical Society ever since 1945. It was C.S.V who represented Kerala at conferences and meetings for a long time. C.S.V took pleasure in pursuing mathematics and in particular number theory. He derived a new identity for multiplicative functions of two variables. Vaidyanatha Swami’s identity for multiplicative functions which appeared in Trans.Amer. Math Soc. in 1931 can be deduced from that of C. S. V..He was awarded PhD degree by Madras university in 1952 for his thesis entitled ‘Contributions to the theory of multilplicative functions’.Dr. A.C.Vasu and Dr. R.Sivaramakrishnan were his doctoral students.


Due to C. S. V’s active interest in research, the Department of Mathematics, Sree Kerala Varma College was recognized as a research centre for Mathematics by the University of Kerala in 1961.C.S.V’s tenure of office at this college was a golden era of the mathematics department. He didn’t accept principal ship as that would deprive him of his passion to do mathematics teaching. CSV passed away on 16 th of March 1994.

CSV Trust : His children, well wishers and former colleagues have formed a trust in his memory which organizes several programmes to promote mathematics. Prof. CSV memorial prizes are awarded to the toppers of the Regional Mathematical Olympiad (Kerala) . Endowment lectures are being arranged in the annual conferences of the Ramanujan Mathematical Society since 1995